CAV Award

This years CAV Award winners are

Jakob RehofTU Dortmund
Thomas RepsUW-Madison
Akash LalMicrosoft Research
Shaz QadeerMeta Research
Madan MusuvathiMicrosoft Research

For the introduction of context-bounded analysis and its application to the systematic testing of concurrent programs


Anyone can submit a nomination. The Award Committee can originate a nomination. Anyone, with the exception of members of the Award Committee, is eligible to receive the Award. A nomination must state clearly the contribution(s), explain why the contribution is fundamental or the series of contributions is outstanding, and be accompanied by supporting letters and other evidence of worthiness. 

Nominations should include a proposed citation (up to 25 words), a succinct (100-250 words) description of the contribution(s), and a detailed statement to justify the nomination. The cited contribution(s) must have been made not more recently than five years ago and not over twenty five years ago. In addition, the contribution(s) should not yet have received recognition via a major award, such as the ACM Turing or Kanellakis Awards. The nominee may have received such an award for other contributions.

For previous winners of the award, please see the main CAV award page. Nominations should be submitted by e-mail to a member of the committee.

Important Dates

Nomination deadline: March 1, 2023

Award Committee

Parosh Abdulla (Chair)Uppsala University
Corina PasareanuNASA
Rupak MajumdarMPI-SWS
Ranjit JhalaUniversity of California, San Diego